Page 6 - Tennis Magazine April 2019
P. 6

Court of
                          Appeals

















             Resolving


             y                 rules


             ques
             q q               ions
             qu
                       qu
                       qu      arrels


















                My partner accidentally served with a ball that wasn’t from the can we started

                playing with. Our opponent returned the serve out, but then claimed the ball
                was “bad”—which, to her, was the reason it went out—and that we should replay

                the point. I said she had tried to return the ball, so there should be no replay.

                We ended up replaying the point, but who was right? —Becky Pearson, Dallas, TX



             Rule 3 doesn’t make any provision            Listen to your fellow spectators.            “count as part of the net.” Rule 2
             for declaring the use of a stray ball        While you are correct that The               defines permanent fixtures, and the
             “bad.” If the ball had any compres-          Code, #5, begins by saying a “player         net and net posts are not included in
             sion—i.e., you couldn’t squeeze              makes calls on own side of net,”             the definition (except for the posts
             it flat with your hand—the point             this only relates to “shots landing          and parts of the net outside the
             counts. If it had lost compression           on, or aimed at, the player’s side of        singles sticks). Rule 13, USTA Com-
             (“broken” under Rule 3), you would           the net.” In this case, it’s not an in or    ment 13.1, says that a player loses
             replay the point.                            out call that needs to be made. The          the point if their shot first hits “an
                                                          Code, #19, says that a player who            object attached to the net or post
             A Net Cross No-No                            hits a ball before it crosses the net        (such as a scoring device).”
             I was watching a doubles match               “shall concede the point.” It’s up to
             where a player clearly struck a ball         the hitter to make the concession.           Let This Let Pass?
             before it crossed the net. No one                                                         As my opponent was reaching for
             called it or mentioned it on either          Post Powers                                  a ball, it bounced a second time—
             side. Most of my fellow spectators           Why do net posts count as part               and at the same time, she stopped
             agreed that a player can only call           of the net, but scoreboards, trash           playing. She then called out, “ball
             this on himself. I insisted that I can       cans and cup holders attached to             on court.” A ball had bounced from
             call it on an opponent since I can           the net do not?                              another court and stopped by the
             make calls on my side of the net.                         —M. Kaytaz, Naples, FL          back wall. Our opponent said a ball
             Am I right?                                                                               anywhere on the court is a “let,”
                     —Greg Jungman, Norman, OK            It’s not so much that the net posts          and it doesn’t matter where play-




        4  T E N N I S . C O M  M A R /A P R  2 0 1 9
   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11