Page 50 - Sports Illustrated Kids (April 2019)
P. 50

WHAT’S THE CALL?




           Illustrations by Sean Tiffany




                    GOING DEEP
                     In a soccer game between the Santa Fe Attack and
           the Alameda Bulls, Attack midfielder Joanie Lopez is handling
           a throw-in for her team around midfield. She notices that
           her teammate, Tricia Bell, has snuck behind the Bulls’
           defense. Lopez throws a long pass that reaches Bell,
           who is standing alone in front of the goal area. Bell
           receives the pass and scores easily against an
           overwhelmed goaltender. The Bulls appeal for an
           offside call. You’re the referee. Does the goal count?

                                                                                                                 TWO-STEP
                                                                                                                  The Mount Juliet Jazz are
                                                                                                         playing the Smithville Spurs in a
                                                                                                         basketball game under NBA rules. Jazz
                                                                                                         guard Danny Wilson receives a pass
                                                                                                         on the wing as Spurs defender Miles
                                                                                                         Stewart guards him. Wilson pivots
                                                                                                         backward, moving his right foot, to
                                                                                                         guard the ball against Stewart’s
                                                                                                         prying hands. He then raises his left
                                                                                                         foot (his pivot foot) off the ground
                                                                                                         before releasing the ball to dribble.
                                                                                                         His left foot and the ball, however, hit
                                                                                                         the floor at the exact same time.
                                                                                                         Stewart appeals for a traveling call,
                                                                                                         but Wilson says his pivot foot didn’t
                                                                                                         land until he was already dribbling.
                                                                                                         You’re the referee. What’s the call?






















           the hole. Can he do that?


           ANSWERS ON PAGE 55

            52 / SPORTS ILLUSTRATED KIDS
   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55