Page 50 - Sports Illustrated Kids (October 2018)
P. 50

WHAT’S

            THE CALL?                            Illustrations by
                                                 Sean Tiffany






                                     DOUBLE TROUBLE

                                     The Big State University Bulldogs are
                            playing the Tech College Terriers in a hockey
                            game under NCAA rules. Big State star forward
                            Skyler Jackson streaks down the ice with the
                            puck, while Tech’s Rich MacDonald desperately
                            tries to keep pace and make a defensive play.
                            MacDonald first slashes Jackson on the arm,
                            then trips him. The referees see both infractions                            BUTTERFINGERS
                            happen and raise their arms with the intention                               The Pembroke Pirates are playing
                            of sending MacDonald to the penalty box for                                  the Harrisburg Hot Shots in a
                            four minutes—two for each foul. However,                                     basketball game under NBA rules.
                            Jackson powers to the net and scores                                         Harrisburg point guard Alec King
                                    before play stops. Do the Bulldogs                                   dribbles toward the three-point
                                          still go on the power play?                                    line and then stops. While looking
                                                                                                         for a teammate to pass to, he
                                                                                                         accidentally fumbles the ball. He
                                                                                                         has to take two steps to recover
                                                                                                         it, then immediately starts to
                                                                                                         dribble toward the hoop. The
                                                                                                         Pirates want a whistle. You’re the
                                                                                                         referee. What’s the call?















                           FLAGSTICK-Y SITUATION
                           Georgia Wyatt is participating in a golf tournament under USGA
                   rules. While she attempts an extremely long putt for an eagle, her
                   caddie, Amelia Herring, stands by the hole. When Herring notices the
                   approaching ball might actually go in the cup, she removes the
                   flagstick so that the ball won’t hit it and bounce out. Another golfer
                   complains that Herring isn’t allowed to move the flagstick. You’re the
                   tournament official. Does Wyatt receive a penalty?

                  ANSWERS ON PAGE 55






            52 / SPORTS ILLUSTRATED KIDS
   45   46   47   48   49   50   51   52   53   54   55